Afternoon | High tea

First Afternoon Tea in 2014

20140210-154134.jpg

Where to have my first Afternoon tea for this new year? Of course, in one of the sophisticated venues here in Melbourne, The Waiting Room in Crown. So on a weekday, braving the scorching summer heat of 43 degrees, my sisters and I met up with two of our girlfriends for some tea ( I know what you’re thinking! HOT tea in a VERY HOT weather!? Air-conditioning was the answer! Thanks to modern technology!), pastries, sandwiches and scones – warm, fluffy scones!

The place had a 1940s atmosphere with its jazzy feel of dim lightning and candles which reflected on the mirrors, silverwares and crystals that surrounded the bar. Just looking around felt like I was opening a jewellery box with a candlelight in the middle of the night. Everything glittered!

20140210-160958.jpg

I was actually tempted to order iced tea instead of hot tea because of the weather. Although the air was cooler inside, I was parched! But I opted against it. I just gulped in a glassful of water or two from a beautiful carafe. And ordered Silver needle, one of my favourites. It’s white tea, its flavour light, fresh and sweet.

Our server arrived carrying two three-tiered silver stands. The former wearing suspenders and necktie on a white shirt gave off a mid-1900s vibe. I liked it. The tiers were square rather than the round ones I normally see. I liked it more. It looked more elegant.

20140210-165747.jpg

The contents were such eye candies, especially the bottom tier! But I’ll start at the top first. I enjoyed all three – the chicken and leek pie, the truffle puff twist and especially, the roast chicken and walnut tortilla wrap. On the second tier, I had two of the marinated salmon croissant, and a tomato, basil and buffalo mozzarella on olive sour dough. Sadly, I skipped the cucumber and cream cheese on white bread to make room for the pastries and the much-awaited scones!

20140210-173716.jpg

For the sweets… I had all four! The best one for me was the coconut dacquoise with mango and pistachios. I loved all the elements of the pastry. I liked the lemon meringue tart with orange and strawberries. I think due to the hot weather, I wanted something fruity and refreshing. The other two, espresso eclair with caramel glaze, and crispy chocolate, praline and Tonka bean mousse, delicious as they were, were too heavy for my present state (or palette, at that time).

20140210-174155.jpg

Now, the scones, the raisin and butter-milk scones were lovely! They didn’t disappoint. The warm and fluffy scone buttered first with whipped cream and then the homemade jam, was the star of that afternoon sitting.

To cleanse the palette, we were served raspberry sorbet with Grand Marnier syrup and walnut praline base. Yep… With a cognac liqueur! The place is a bar, after all. Two were specially requested to be alcohol-free as one of our companions was expecting, the other one, breast feeding. Same reason why we had to forego the Louis Roederer Champagne.

The only downside was we had to wait for the staff to top up our teacups. It took them a while to come back with the teapot. Once, he had to return to get the right pot. It should have been more convenient if we were given our own teapot.

20140210-180923.jpg

I must say, it was the only time I ever had that much to eat in all of my afternoon | high tea adventures. Again, I blamed the weather, the sumptuous food and mostly, the great company I had (too much talking and laughing can really work out an appetite)!

Price: 39 AUD (without champagne)

Place: The Waiting Room, Crown

Date: January 2014

Bookings recommended.

Standard

Leave a comment